South Carolina Citizen Journal

November 22, 2008

Economy

Filed under: Economy, Education, Energy, Environment, Transportation, Water policy — NotforHire @ 5:30 pm

My kitchen is not my dream kitchen, but it certainly is nothing to complain about, most of the modern conveniences being included. My favorite thing in the place is not the food processor, which is used sparingly, or the blender, or even the coffee maker, which I do rely on quite heavily.

My favorite thing in the place is a wooden spoon from my grandmother’s kitchen. It doesn’t just hang on the wall either, I use it almost every time I cook. I love it first because it reminds me of my grandmother, of the times we had in her kitchen, baking or cooking for the family, the holidays, and all the good times.

I love it foremost though for the economy that it represents.

To explain what I mean we must go first to the definition of economy. The way the word is most used now, as defined in Webster’s online dictionary is actually the forth definition of the word, “The structure or conditions of economic life in a country”. The first two definitions of the word are what need to be brought back into common usage:

1. The management of household or private affairs and especially expenses.
2. a: thrifty and efficient use of material resources : frugality in expenditures  ; also : an instance or a means of economizing : saving b: efficient and concise use of nonmaterial resources.

Economy is something we experience in every action that we take in life, whether we are being economical or uneconomical. My grandmother’s wooden spoon that I use, so worn and beloved, is an example of good economy. We used to teach personal economy to our citizens, in our churches and in our schools, but we have gotten away from that. Way away.

It is time, as I think we can all see, for real economy to be dusted off and brought back into use. It won’t be an easy road, but it is a necessary road, and our future depends upon it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

